Simplicity

I go through periods of wanting to simplify my life.

In a lot of ways, I have succeded in that goal.  A few years back I went through a period of deep unhappiness that resulted in a ‘list’ of sorts of the things I felt I truly needed in my life to make me happy.  The top five I gave myself.  You might be surprised to know not one of them had anything to do with something material.

But since then I haven’t been able to let go of other material things that I could probably do without.   In an area I fail, and fail often.  I need to simplify by sorting through the ‘things’ in my life and weeding out the ‘wants’ from the ‘needs’.

I found Jack‘s blog this summer.  Jack is a former lawyer who is on a long journey of ‘Voluntary Simplicity’.  Click on his link and take a peek at his blog, he is a brave fellow to give up material items for the adventure of life.

In that vein I wanted to share a quote that I saw recently that resonated with me.

Take away all your possessions. Take away all your education. Take away all your money. What’s left is all you are. Think about that. What are you all about?

4 thoughts on “Simplicity

  1. But, you can’t take away all your education. It’s already incorporated into who you are. I like the concept of taking away possessions and money, and stripping life down to essentials though. But, good grief, what would I do without all my stuff?!?!?

    I remember reading an article a few years ago about a man who had been let go from a prestigious, high-earning, corporate job. After months and months of looking for work and depleting all his savings, he ended up taking a job on a road crew, at the business end of a shovel. He said that it was so refreshing to have life simplified. From my own experience, I remember the satisfaction of jobs where you knew when you were done because the tasks were completed. My job now is more vague and it feels as if nothing is truly complete.

    All that said, I do appreciate the little luxuries of my life…

  2. I simplified my life without even realizing it. When I did realize it, I realized why I had been so stressed out and unhappy previously in my life. I like simple. I like my life. I love this post.

  3. e: I know, getting rid of stuff, HARD. I’ve been trying to think of it as not accumulating stuff at such a fast rate and then that didnt work, lol!

    Syd, I know… way toooo deep. Everyone go visit Syd for some shites and giggles cuz its gotten way boring over here!

    cj: nice work girl! feels good huh??

Talk to me

